Our country ignores a system of governance largely spread in Europe : in Denmark, Germany, Norway and Switzerland, … industrial and commercial firms are commonly owned by foundation. Indeed, who knew that Bosch or Bertelsmann (Germany), Rolex (Switzerland), Ikea (Sweden), Carlsberg (Denmark), or Pierre Fabre (France) belonged to… foundations?

This website was created in parallel with the publication of the first European study on Shareholder Foundations. The aim is to gather actors and share knowledge regarding this new socio-economic model.

What is a shareholder foundation ?

 

A shareholder foundation describes a non-profit foundation that owns an industrial or commercial firm. The former holds all or part of the shares of the latter, in addition to the majority of voting rights – or at least a blocking minority.

Why a European study ?

 

The model of shareholder foundation, which combines charitable giving and investment, capitalism and philanthropy, remains largely ignored in France. The Laboratoires Pierre Fabre are indeed an exception in the French economic/business landscape. Prophil, a French strategic consulting firm, specialized in new philanthropic and economic models, has naturally chosen shareholder foundations as a research topic.

Following a conference organized with Delsol Avocats in March 2014, Propil decided to gather this well-known law firm, the Philanthropy Chair of the Essec Business School, to explore the topic with the financial support of Mazars. The study was conducted in 4 European countries: Denmark, Germany, France and Switzerland.

The study explores an economic reality that remains a groundbreaking terra incognita. This model is paradoxical: widespread yet unknown, influence yet discreet, virtuous for some and subversive for others. It is the starting point of a collective reflection that needs to be pursued.

shareholder foundations in Danmark

shareholder foundations in Germany

shareholder foundations in Switzerland

shareholder foundations in France


This study was conducted and realised by

Prophil_logo-RVB

Why a dedicated website ?

Build a network

Inform

Share knowledge

Notre pays méconnait largement un mode de gouvernance répandu dans le reste de l’Europe : au Danemark, en Allemagne, en Norvège, en Suisse etc… de grandes entreprises industrielles et commerciales sont couramment détenues par des fondations, et le modèle s’avère durable et vertueux. Pourquoi ?

Ce site, à l’occasion de la parution de la première étude sur les fondations actionnaires, a pour vocation de partager la connaissance et rassembler les acteurs intéressés par ce nouveau modèle socio-économique.

Qu’est-ce qu’une fondation actionnaire ?

 

Une fondation actionnaire désigne une fondation à but non-lucratif, propriétaire d’une entreprise industrielle ou commerciale : elle possède tout ou partie des actions et la majorité des droits de vote et/ou la minorité de blocage.

Pourquoi une étude européenne ?

 

Le modèle des fondations actionnaires, qui articule de façon indissociable don et investissement, capitalisme et philanthropie, est largement méconnu en France, où les laboratoires Pierre Fabre font figure d’exception. Prophil, cabinet de conseil spécialisé dans les nouveaux modèles philanthropiques et économiques, a naturellement choisi comme ce thème comme sujet d’étude.

Dans la continuité d’une conférence organisée avec Delsol Avocats (mars 2014), Prophil s’est entouré de ce cabinet d’avocats de référence, et de la Chaire Philanthropie de l’ESSEC, pour approfondir, avec le soutien de Mazars, le sujet dans 4 pays européens : le Danemark, l’Allemagne, la Suisse et la France.

L’étude lève le voile sur une réalité économique qui échappe aux statistiques. Un sujet à la fois foisonnant et d’avenir, vertueux pour certains et subversif pour d’autres. Elle est le point de départ d’une réflexion à poursuivre collectivement.

fondations actionnaires au Danemark

fondations actionnaires en Allemagne

fondations actionnaires en Suisse

fondations actionnaires en France


Cette étude a été réalisée et coordonnée par

Prophil_logo-RVB

Pourquoi un site dédié ?

Rassembler les acteurs

Informer

Partager la connaissance